fbpx Skip to main content

Music of Soviet Russia

Olga Kleiankina and Liliya Ugay



Raleigh Civic Chamber Orchestra
Revolution 1917: Music of Soviet Russia

Sunday, April 2, 2017 at 4pm
Stewart Theatre

TICKETS: 919-515-1100 (1-6pm, Mon-Fri) or click here to order online

To commemorate the 100th anniversary of the Russian Revolution, the Raleigh Civic Chamber Orchestra will perform works composed in the post-revolution Soviet Union. NC State faculty pianist Olga Kleiankina (a native of Moldova, a member of the former Communist Bloc) joins the orchestra as guest soloist in Dimtri Shostakovich’s Piano Concerto No. 2. The orchestra will also present the world premiere of a newly commissioned work by Liliya Ugay, a rising-star composer and pianist from Uzbekistan.

Dr. Daniel Bolger of the NC State Department of History will provide historical and cultural context for the music. Dr. Peter Askim, director of orchestral studies in the NC State Department of Music, conducts the program.

The Raleigh Civic Chamber Orchestra is one of the two orchestras of NC State University.

Liliya Ugay – To the Lost World (world premiere)
Shostakovich – Five Fragments
Schnittke – Piano Quartet for String Orchestra
Shostakovich – Piano Concerto No. 2, Dr. Olga Kleiankina, piano

$10 adults, $8 seniors, $5 students, children under 12 free. Available for purchase at the door or in advance through Ticket Central, 919-515-1100 (open 1-6pm, Mon-Fri). Tickets are available online until midnight on Saturday, April 1.



Russian Folk Dance Master Class with Maria Potepalova

Wednesday, March 29, 2017 at 6pm
Carmichael Gym 2307

Traditional Russian folk dance is as broad and diverse and the nation itself. Join Maria Potepalova, the NC State Dance Program marketing assistant, to try cheery and lively traditional Russian movements.  Maria danced in a folk ensemble in Russia for 16 years and performed internationally.

This free class is open to all NC State students, faculty and staff. No previous dance experience required. Class length: 1.5 hours. Register for the class on the NC State Dance Program website.

Liliya Ugay, piano

Saturday, April 1, 2017 at 7:30pm
Carswell Concert Hall at Meredith College

In conjunction with the world premiere of her new work – To the Lost World – to be performed by the Raleigh Civic Chamber Orchestra on April 2, Meredith College will present Liliya Ugay in a lecture-recital of music by Soviet composers. This free event is open to the public, no reservation required.




More stories from the Department of Performing Arts and Technology