fbpx Skip to main content

Symphonic Band: Life is Better on Stage

Wednesday, April 20 | 7:00 p.m. | Stewart Theatre

Musicians play brass instruments during a symphonic band concert

The NC State Department of Music presents

NC State Symphonic Band

Life is Better on Stage

Mr. Chris Branam, conductor


Opening Night on Broadway
Arranged by Michael Brown

  • “Springtime for Hitler” from The Producers
  • “Avenue Q” from Avenue Q
  • “Always Look on the Bright Side of Life” from Spamalot
  • “For Good” from Wicked
  • “Circle of Life” from The Lion King

Jaelle van de Velde, oboe; Sarah Sisk, piccolo 

The Golden Age of Broadway + Seventy-Six Trombones
Richard Rogers / Meredith Wilson
Arranged by John Moss / Alfred Reed

  • “Bali Ha’i” from South Pacific
  • “Seventy-Six Trombones” from The Music Man
  • “Oklahoma” from Oklahoma
  • “Climb Ev’ry Mountain” from The Sound of Music

McKenzie Peters, alto sax

West Side Story
Leonard Bernstein
Arranged by Jay Bocook

  • “Maria”
  • “Tonight”
  • “One Hand, One Heart”
  • “Cool”
  • “Somewhere”

Adam Wampler, trumpet; Lindsey Wilson, alto sax; Cameron Kellner, oboe; Max Goyette, flute; Lauren LaChance, french horn

Warren Casey and Jim Jacobs
Arranged by John Moss

  • “We Go Together”
  • “Summer Nights”
  • “Beauty School Dropout”
  • “Greased Lightning”

Cameron Kellner, oboe

Selections from Wicked
Stephen Schwartz
Arranged by Jay Bocook

  • “No One Mourns the Wicked”
  • “Dancing through Life”
  • “Defying Gravity”

Spencer Nixon, oboe; Austin Allison, trumpet; Sarah Sisk, flute; Carlin Spence, flute


The Phantom of the Opera
Andrew Lloyd Webber
Arranged by Paul Murtha

  • “Music of the Night”
  • “The Phantom of the Opera”
  • “Angel of Music”
  • “All I Ask of You”

Jaelle van de Velde, oboe; Allison Abel, flute; Isabella Levering, flute; Kurtis Konrad, french horn

Stephen Sondheim
Arranged by Stephen Bulla

  • “The Ballad of Sweeney Todd” from Sweeney Todd
  • “Into the Woods” from Into the Woods

Highlights from Beauty and the Beast
Alan Menken and Howard Ashman
Arranged by John Moss

  • “Prologue”
  • “Belle”
  • “Gaston”
  • “Be Our Guest”
  • “Beauty and the Beast”

Grant Sevier, trumpet; Criss Berke, baritone; Jordan Bryant, flute; Natalie Flack, french horn

My Shot” from Hamilton
Lin-Manuel Miranda
Arranged by Michael Brown

Lorenzo Melton, drum set; Kevin Rowsey, vocals

Highlights from Les Miserables
Claude-Michel Schönberg and Alain Boublil
Arranged by Jay Bocook

  • “Look Down”
  • “At the End of the Day”
  • “I Dreamed a Dream”
  • “Master of the House”
  • “Do You Hear the People Sing?”

Cameron Kellner, oboe; Madison Neal, french horn; Will Cowan, trumpet; Anthony Nolasco, trombone; Spencer Nixon, oboe; Merilyn Thomas, alto sax; McKenzie Peters, alto sax; Sarah Trantham, flute

NC State Symphonic Band

* indicates a senior
^ indicates a committee member


Allison Abel
Jordan Bryant*
Charlotte Davis
Erica Finch^
Max Goyette
Claire Hodges
Hannah Jones
Jenna Jones
Isabella Levering
Julie Lewis^
Jackson Lods
Julia Marino^
Katie Phillips
Madeline Phillips
Emma Scardina
Sarah Sisk^
Carlin Spence
Sarah Trantham


Gabriella Boley
Daniel Dryden
Kenyon Dunlap
Austin Gragson
Connell Gray
Sara Harris
Chase Lizarralde
Rachel Nichols
Shannen Petro
Austin Pewitt^
Maggie Price
Nathan Wellborn
Sam Wetzel


Austin Furr
Cameron Kellner^
Spencer Nixon
Jaelle van de Velde

Alto Clarinet

Johann Galilea

Bass Clarinet

Jeremy Byrne
Nicholas Boone


Matthew Rink^

Alto Saxophone 

Michael Lauf
Ethan Newhouse
McKenzie Peters*^
Molly Reid
Ethan Russell^
Adrianna Sanchez^
John Shelby
Merilyn Thomas
Jennifer Urbanek^
Lindsey Wilson

Tenor Saxophone

William Dobson^
Adam Myers

Baritone Saxophone

Connor Seeley
Samuel Deangelis


Austin Allison
William Carpenter
William Cowan
Jacob Dobson*
Matthew Farmer
Tommy Sailor Koeplinger*
Aaron Paulus^
Vaughn Pusey
Justin Riddick
Taylor Sanborn
Grant Sevier
Gattis Smith II – McNeill^
Samuel Summer
Adam Wampler^

French Horn

Nicholas Carter*
Natalie Flack
Regina Hernandez^
Ashtyn Hill
Jozsa Incorvaia
Kurtis Konrad*^
Lauren LaChance
Christopher MacKay
Madison Neal*
Jake Parrot
Samuel Webb


Ethan Casstevens
Austin Harrell
Alyssa Marks
Anthony Nolasco
Justin Orringer
Grant Robertson
Bailey Wright


Criss Berke
Danielle Lewis
Zakiyah McCullough
Alex Pedigo
Aiden Portnoy^


Gabriel Ellenberg
Jordan King*^


Zachary Edgerton
Bennet Hancock
Yun-Chen Hsieh
Tyler Moss
Zeiad Yakout

Guest Artist Bios

Kevin “Rowdy” Rowsey is a national recording artist, writer, actor and educator based in North Carolina. Rowsey has been featured on BET, NPR and is an actor/host on PBS Kids. Rowsey is a U.S. Hip Hop Ambassador through the U.S. Department of State and the Next Level Hip Hop Program. On stage, Rowsey has been nominated three times for a Carolina Music Award, and has been able to share the stage with the likes of Busta Rhymes, Rakim, Ari Lennox, Snow Tha Product, and a plethora of other national recording acts. He holds the position of Program Director at the downtown Durham Afrofuturist teen center Blackspace. While studying the intersectionalities of hip hop and education through UNC Greensboro’s PhD program, Rowsey continues his mission to spread southern hip hop at a national and international level through performance, writing and educational workshops that inspire the culture through the craft.

Lorenzo S. Melton II is no stranger to the NC State music department. During his time at NC State he was a member of the marching band and the pep band. These days he gets his fill of drums through playing for his church. His church family and neighbors have been known to describe him as “a joy to watch play” and “a fantastic example of the importance of sound proof walls and drum cages.” C’est la vie.

Upcoming Events


More stories from the Department of Performing Arts and Technology